Collaborative Editing Overview Video (3:27)
Real-time collaboration acts as a messenger system between multiple users invited to work together on a presentation. Zoomifier's collaborative editing feature enables multiple users to work together simultaneously on a single presentation, with specific features that promote effective collaboration while minimizing the chaos of simultaneous edits. Collaborative editing offers the following benefits:
- Simultaneous multi-user edit access to a single presentation
- Visual indicators of who else is editing the presentation and what element they're editing
- Real-time display and synchronization of changes
- Saves time by eliminating the back and forth of sharing and reviewing edited versions of a document
How to invite others to edit collaboratively in Zoomifier:
- Log into your Zoomifier account and open the presentation you would like to edit collaboratively
- Double-click on a slide to go to the Slide Editor View
- On the NEW Toolbar on the right-hand side, click on the "Collaboration" icon to open the Collaboration Panel.
- Click on the "Manage Collaborators" button to add Users or User Groups to collaborate on the open document
NOTE: Invited Users are NOT sent any notification so you will need to notify them via your normal communication tools.
- A Red Badge will appear on the Collaboration Icon showing you how many active Collaborators are currently in the presentation with you.
- Clicking on the Collaboration Icon allows you to see which users are currently working in the presentation with you.
- When a user joins or leaves the collaborative editing session a notification flag appears for all other active collaborators.
If you are invite to edit collaboratively:
When you are invited to edit collaboratively on a presentation, you'll find the presentation in your "Collaboration" list.
- Log into Zoomifier and click on your "My Work" folder
- At the top right of your My Work page is your "Collaboration" list where you can find all the presentations that you have been invited to collaborate on
Notes and Additional Info:
- Elements selected by other collaborators are highlighted on your screen, marked with the name and color of the collaborator, and the item is locked so no one else can edit it while the user has it actively selected.
- When a collaborator is editing text in a text box, we show that activity with animated dots over the text box. The text box is locked for other collaborators so only the active user can edit the text box.
- Under the slides icon on the presentation page, the display of all slides in the presentation, also gives collaborators an indicator of who is editing a specific slide
- Everyone's edits are automatically saved as they are made to the active presentation, so all changes are saved all the time!
- If you want to drag and drop slides from a presentation on your Collaboration list into another presentation of yours, you can still view these presentations in the Shared Presentations folder in the CustomShow Editor.
- All Collaborators can Publish changes to the presentation so changes are visible to external viewers.